ASN Ingenieursgesellschaft mbH und Co. KG

Glossary - Definition

ATA iSpec 2200

The ATA iSpec2200 is a standard used worldwide in the commercial aviation industry, developed and published by Airline for America (A4A) - formerly Air Transport Association (ATA). This standard regulates the content, structure and electronic exchange of aircraft, maintenance and flight operations information.

Leading European aircraft and equipment manufacturers are also following the standards defined in the ATA iSpec 2200 for their technical documentation. The aim of the ATA iSpec 2200 is to reduce costs and facilitate documentation creation while at the same time improving the quality and up-to-dateness of information. The structure is based on an SGML DTD. As a result, the electronic use and further processing of the technical information is guaranteed.
 

ATA Spec 2000

The ATA Spec2000 is an international aviation specification created for the automation of business processes and the information exchange relating to aircraft parts, materials, maintenance and reliability. This specification covers the comprehensive and diversified exchange of information and is used worldwide by nearly all airlines and suppliers. ATA Spec2000 incorporates the topics: stockpiling, spare parts and supply planning, ordering and invoicing, repair ordering, reliability for data exchange, shipment monitoring support system, guarantee handling, traceability of shipment parts, certification documentation and electronic vehicle log.

ASD S1000D (TM)

The specification S1000D (TM) "International Specification for Technical Publications utilizing a Common Source Database" is of worldwide relevance for technical documentation in the aviation and defence industries. European publisher is the ASD (Aero Space and Defence Industries Association of Europe, Brussels) as successor of the AECMA, US-American publishers are the AIA (Aerospace Industries of America) and the ATA (Air Transport Association of America, Inc.) respectively A4A (Airlines for America).


S1000D divides the documentation of systems according to their system architecture into subsystems and components (equipment breakdown) using a so-called "Standard Numbering System" (SNS).


According to S1000D the documentation consists of data modules which are created and stored without redundancy in the CSDB, originally using the mark-up language SGML, in versions 1.9 and later using XML. A unique module is assigned to every part defined as subsystem or component in the equipment breakdown. Therefor the specification provides (at this time 14) different document base types using respective SGML DTDs and XML schemas.


The most commonly used S1000D versions are:

  • V1.7.x
  • V1.9
  • V2.3
  • V3.0
  • V4.0.1
  • V4.1
  • V4.2

 

ASD - STE100 (Simplified Technical English)

ASD-STE100 Simplified Technical English is a controlled language in which the natural English was reduced to a standardized subset for a specific purpose.

It was created for maintenance documentation in the aerospace industry and is nowadays a standard in the aviation and defence industries.

It is not to be confused with basic English, which was created for general language usage.

The purpose of ASD-STE100 is:

  • to reduce polysemy
  • to raise the comprehensibility for non-native speakers
  • to lower the costs and the effort of translations
  • to enable automatic translations.

ASD S2000M

ASD S2000M  „ International Specification for Materiel Management and Integrated Data Processing for Military Equipment “ is an internationally recognised standard created to guarantee the information exchange in material management processes, in projects and between military maintenance units and suppliers.
 

ASD S3000L

ASD S3000L “International Procedure Handbook for Logistic Support Analysis LSA” is an internationally recognised standard and the principal tool for:

  • the development of a product with focus on maintainability, reliability, testability and optimized life cycle costs
  • defining all required resources to support the product in its intended use, during in-service operation.
     

ASD S4000P

ASD S4000P “International procedure Handbook for Scheduled Maintenance Analysis” is an internationally recognised standard and defines the procedures of the methodology and decision logic used as base for the development of the scheduled maintenance program for any technical platform, system, equipment, vehicle, facility etc. (air, sea, land, space, civil or military). It is focussed on the safety, reliability, mission accomplishment and ecological aspects at reasonable cost.
 

ILS

Integrated Logistic Support (ILS) is a methodology used in the aviation and defence industries that is necessary for the support of operation, maintenance and monitoring of operational risks.

Adapted to the specific needs and the product, the application of the integrated logistics supports the awareness of all involved parties for the necessity of the cost effective use of the available resources in order to minimize the costs of production and operation in the complete life cycle. 
 

LSA

Logistic Support Analysis (LSA) is a procedure to systematically and analytically forecast the future demand of resources for maintaining the operability inside a system. Therefore, the systems and the equipment are evaluated together with their modules. The results of the analysis are needed for the planning of materials and maintenance as well as for the technical documentation. 
 

ANSI

The American National Standards Institute ANSI (1919-1928 AESC, American Engineering Standards Committee, 1928-1966 ASA, American Standards Association, 1966-1969 USASI, United States of America Standards Institute) is an American institution for the standardization of industrial procedures. It is member of the international organization for standardization (ISO). The German equivalent is the Deutsche Institut für Normung e. V. (DIN).
 

DIN-Standards

The Deutsche Institut für Normung e. V. (abbreviated to DIN) is the most important national organization for standardization in the Federal Republic of Germany.

The DIN-standards are used to promote rationalizing, communication, assurance of usability, quality assurance, compatibility, interchangeability, health, safety, consumer protection and environmental protection. During their development, generally accepted good engineering practices and the state of technology are considered as far as possible. 
 

VDE

Electrotechnical topics are handled by the DIN together with the German Verband der Elektrotechnik (VDE) in the DKE Deutsche Kommission Elektrotechnik Elektronik Informationstechnik, a joint commission of the DIN and VDE.

The VDE is an association for electrical engineering, electronic engineering and information technologies together with their sciences, consecutive technologies and appliances. It promotes an optimized environment for innovation, safety standards, a modern training of engineers and a high level of acceptance for technology in the general public. The association combines science, standardization and the testing of products. Focal points of the VDE are safety in electrical engineering, the development of generally accepted good engineering practices and the certification of equipment and systems.
 

Machinery Directive

The directive 2006/42/EG of the European parliament and of the council of 17th May 2006 on machinery amending directive 95/16/EG (recast) (generally called machinery directive) sets rules for a homogenous level of protection to prevent machinery related accidents that are relevant when machinery is distributed in the European Economic Area (EEA) as well as Switzerland and Turkey.

The purpose of the directive is to reduce non-tariff barriers to trade in the union. The European harmonisation of law replaces the national regulations of the single states regarding the distribution of machinery.
 

CE Marking

Using the CE marking the manufacturer or EU importer declares in accordance with the EU directive 765/2008 "that the product is in conformity with the applicable requirements set out in Community harmonisation legislation providing for its affixing."
 

Authoring Editorial Guide

An authoring editorial guide is a company-internal set of rules. It is a directive that regulates the content, the document structure, the arrangement as well as the language, the illustration parameters and the relevant procedures.

Additionally it can specify processes for translation, terminology and structuring in accordance with the relevant methodologies. An editorial guide promotes the consistency and quality of the documentation to be produced.

ASN Ingenieursgesellschaft mbH und Co. KG

Glossar - Begriffserklärungen

ATA iSpec2200

ATA iSpec2200 ist ein Standard der amerikanischen Air Transport Association (ATA) bzw. A4A (Airlines for America), der die technische Dokumentation in der Luftfahrtindustrie regelt.

Auch führende europäische Hersteller fordern für neue Verkehrsflugzeuge die Dokumentation nach ATA iSpec 2200. Der "neue" Standard (basierend auf der ATA100) bringt nicht nur enorme Rationalisierungspotenziale mit sich, die Umstellung erfordert auch neue Werkzeuge (Software) und Methoden. Denn die ATA iSpec 2200 setzt zur Definition der Handbuchstrukturen und als Grundlage für den Datenaustausch zwischen Unternehmen auf die Metasprache SGML.

ATA Spec2000

Die ATA Spec2000 ist eine internationale Luftfahrt-Spezifikation, die Geschäftsprozesse und den Informationsaustausch im Zusammenhang mit Flugzeugteilen, Material, Wartung und Zuverlässigkeit automatisieren soll. Diese Spezifikation umfasst umfangreichen und unterschiedlichsten Informationsaustausch und wird von fast allen Fluggesellschaften und Zulieferern weltweit eingesetzt. Die ATA Spec 2000 umfasst die Themen: Bevorratung, Ersatzteile und Beschaffungsplanung, Bestellung und Rechnungsstellung, Reparaturbestellwesen, Zuverlässigkeit beim Datenaustausch, Sendungsabfragehilfe-System, Garantieabwicklung, Rückverfolgbarkeit von Lieferteilen, Zulassungsdokumentation und elektronisches Fahrtenbuch.

ASD S1000D

Die Spezifikation S1000D (TM) "international specification for technical publications utilizing a common source database" ist weltweit eine ausschlaggebende Spezifikation für die Technische Dokumentation in den Bereichen Luftfahrt und Verteidigung. Herausgeber sind auf europäischer Seite die ASD (AeroSpace and Defence Industries Association of Europe, Brüssel) als Nachfolgeorganisation der AECMA, auf US-amerikanischer Seite die AIA (Aerospace Industries of America) und die ATA (Air Transport Association of America, Inc.) bzw. A4A (Airlines for America).

Die S1000D gliedert die Dokumentation von Systemen entsprechend ihrer Systemarchitektur in Subsysteme und Komponenten (Geräteaufbruch) unter Verwendung eines sogenannten "Standard Numbering System" (SNS).

Eine Dokumentation nach S1000D besteht aus Daten-Modulen (data modules), die ursprünglich unter Verwendung der Markup-Sprache SGML, ab Version 1.9 auch in XML erzeugt und redundanzfrei in der CSDB gespeichert werden. Jedem gemäß Geräteaufbruch als Subsystem oder Komponente definierten Teil des zu dokumentierenden Systems sind eindeutig definierte Module zugeordnet. Hierfür stellt die Spezifikation (derzeit 14) verschiedene Grund-Dokumenttypen mittels entsprechender SGML-DTDs bzw. XML-Schemas bereit

Die gängigsten S1000D Versionen:

  • V1.7.x
  • V1.9
  • V2.3
  • V3.0
  • V4.0.1
  • V4.1

ASD-STE100 (Simplified Technical English)

ASD-STE100 Simplified Technical English ist eine kontrollierte Sprache, bei der das natürliche Englisch für einen bestimmten Zweck auf eine standardisierte Teilmenge begrenzt wird. Es wurde für Wartungsdokumentationen in der Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie entwickelt und ist heute ein Standard in der Luftfahrtindustrie und Wehrtechnikindustrie. Es ist nicht mit Basic English zu verwechseln, welches für den allgemeinen Sprachgebrauch geschaffen wurde.

Der Zweck des ASD-STE100 ist es:

  • Mehrdeutigkeiten zu verringern
  • die Verständlichkeit für Nicht-Muttersprachler zu erhöhen
  • Übersetzungen günstiger und einfacher zu gestalten
  • automatisierte Übersetzungen zu ermöglichen.

ASD S2000M

ASD S2000M "international specification for materiel management and integrated data processing for military equipment" ist ein international anerkannter Standard, der den Informationsaustausch im Material-Management-Prozess, bei Projekten, zwischen militärischen Wartungseinheiten und Zulieferern sicherstellen soll.

ASD S3000L

ASD S3000L "international procedure handbook for Logistic Support Analysis LSA" ist ein international anerkannter Standard und das Hauptwerkzeug um:

  • ein Produkt unter den Gesichtspunkten Wartbarkeit, Zuverlässigkeit, Testbarkeit und optimierten Life-Cycle-Costs zu entwickeln
  • alle notwendigen Ressourcen zu definieren
  • um ein Produkt, während seines operativen Einsatzes, in seiner bestimmungsgemäßen Verwendung zu unterstützen

ASD S4000M

ASD S4000M "international procedure handbook for scheduled maintenance analysis" ist ein international anerkannter Standard und beschreibt Verfahren der Methodik und Entscheidungslogik, die die Basis für die Entwicklung eines planmäßigen Wartungsprogramms (Scheduled Maintenance Program) für militärische Luftfahrzeuge sind. Es ist dabei auf Sicherheit, Zuverlässigkeit, Durchführung des Einsatzes und ökologische Aspekte unter Einhaltung vertretbarer Kosten fokussiert.

ILS

Integrated Logistic Support (ILS) ist eine in der Luftfahrt- und Verteidigungsindustrie angewandte Methodik, die zur Unterstützung des Betriebs und der Instandhaltung sowie der Überwachung der Betriebsrisiken benötigt wird. Angepasst auf die jeweiligen Bedürfnisse und das Produkt, stärkt die Anwendung der integrierten Logistik bei allen Beteiligten das Bewusstsein für die Notwendigkeit des kosteneffizienten Einsatzes der verfügbaren Ressourcen mit dem Ziel zur Minimierung der Produktions- und Einsatzkosten über den gesamten Lebenszyklus.

LSA

Logistic Support Analysis (LSA) (die logistischen Unterstützungsanalysen) ist ein Verfahren, um strukturiert und analytisch eine Voraussage des zukünftigen Bedarfs an Ressourcen für die Erhaltung der Betrieblichkeit innerhalb eines Systems zu treffen. Dabei werden Systeme/Geräte und deren Module bewertet. Die Ergebnisse der Analyse werden bei der Materialplanung, der Instandsetzungsplanung und in der Technischen Dokumentation benötigt.

ANSI

Das American National Standards Institute ANSI (1919–1928 AESC, American Engineering Standards Committee, 1928–1966 ASA, American Standards Association, 1966–1969 USASI, United States of America Standards Institute) ist die amerikanische Stelle zur Normung industrieller Verfahrensweisen. Es ist Mitglied in der Internationalen Organisation für Normung (ISO). Das deutsche Pendant ist das Deutsche Institut für Normung e. V. (DIN).

DIN-Normung

Das Deutsche Institut für Normung e. V. (kurz DIN) ist die bedeutendste nationale Normungsorganisation in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

Die DIN-Normen dienen der Rationalisierung, Verständigung, Sicherung von Gebrauchstauglichkeit, Qualitätssicherung, Kompatibilität, Austauschbarkeit, Gesundheit, Sicherheit, dem Verbraucherschutz und dem Umweltschutz. Bei ihrer Erstellung wird angestrebt, dass die allgemein anerkannten Regeln der Technik eingehalten werden und der aktuelle Stand der Technik berücksichtigt wird.

VDE

Die elektrotechnischen Themen werden vom DIN und dem deutschen Verband der Elektrotechnik (VDE) gemeinsam in der DKE Deutsche Kommission Elektrotechnik Elektronik Informationstechnik im DIN und VDE bearbeitet.

Der VDE ist der Verband der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Informationstechnik, ihrer Wissenschaften, der darauf aufbauenden Technologien und Anwendungen. Er engagiert sich für ein besseres Innovationsklima, Sicherheitsstandards, für eine moderne Ingenieurausbildung und eine hohe Technikakzeptanz in der Bevölkerung. Der Verband vereint Wissenschaft, Normung und Produktprüfung. So sind die Sicherheit in der Elektrotechnik, die Erarbeitung anerkannter Regeln der Technik als nationale und internationale Normen sowie Prüfung und Zertifizierung von Geräten und Systemen VDE-Schwerpunkte. Das VDE Prüf- und Zertifizierungsinstitut mit Sitz in Offenbach gehört zu den unabhängigen Prüforganisationen für elektrotechnische Produkte. Von der Waschmaschine bis zum IT-Produkt – alles wird hier geprüft.

Maschinenrichtlinie

Die Richtlinie 2006/42/EG des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates vom 17. Mai 2006 über Maschinen und zur Änderung der Richtlinie 95/16/EG (Neufassung) (kurz: Maschinenrichtlinie) regelt ein einheitliches Schutzniveau zur Unfallverhütung für Maschinen beim Inverkehrbringen innerhalb des europäischen Wirtschaftsraumes (EWR) sowie der Schweiz und der Türkei.

Durch die Maschinenrichtlinie sollen nichttarifäre Handelshemmnisse in der Union abgebaut werden. Das europäisch harmonisierte Recht verdrängt die einzelstaatlichen nationalen Bestimmungen zum Inverkehrbringen von Maschinen.

CE-Kennzeichnung

Mit der CE-Kennzeichnung erklärt der Hersteller oder EU-Importeur gemäß EU-Richtlinie 765/2008, "dass das Produkt den geltenden Anforderungen genügt, die in den Harmonisierungsrechtsvorschriften der Gemeinschaft über ihre Anbringung festgelegt sind."

Redaktionsleitfaden

Ein Redaktionsleitfaden ist ein unternehmensinternes Regelwerk. Es ist ein Leitfaden welcher Inhalt, Dokumentenstruktur und Gliederung sowie Sprache, Grafikvorgaben und Verfahrensanweisungen definiert. Darüber hinaus können Prozesse für Übersetzung und Terminologie oder Strukturierung nach Funktionsdesign abgebildet werden. Ein Redaktionsleitfaden sichert Konsistenz und Qualität der zu erstellenden Dokumentation.